Solitaire by Alice Oseman | Book Review

I received this book for free from the Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Solitaire by Alice Oseman | Book ReviewSolitaire by Alice Oseman
Published by Harper Collins Children's Books on July 31st 2014
Genres: Contemporary
Pages: 400
Format: ARC
Source: the Publisher
Goodreads
four-half-stars

In case you’re wondering, this is not a love story.

My name is Tori Spring. I like to sleep and I like to blog. Last year – before all that stuff with Charlie and before I had to face the harsh realities of A-Levels and university applications and the fact that one day I really will have to start talking to people – I had friends. Things were very different, I guess, but that’s all over now.

Now there’s Solitaire. And Michael Holden.

I don’t know what Solitaire are trying to do, and I don’t care about Michael Holden.

I really don’t.

This incredible debut novel by outstanding young author Alice Oseman is perfect for fans of John Green, Rainbow Rowell and all unflinchingly honest writers.

What I thought NEW

I have been wanting to read Solitaire for the longest time, and when I came face to face with a review copy at YALC, I couldn’t help myself but start reading immediately. No kidding, I got about halfway through the book at the event itself.

It was such a good read! Filled tons of fandom references (that a booklover can’t help but love!) and overall just a great portrayal of teenage life. Solitaire covered the confusing turbulence of adolescence perfectly with wit, cynicism, and humour. It’s a story that many teenagers will be able to relate to, as well as adults, because it’s written that realistically.

Tori, the main protagonist, was a character that portrays exactly what it feels to be a teenager, the confusing feelings and the insecurities. Her feelings were so real to me, reading from her perspective was sometimes scary, because as a reader I noticed she was heading the wrong way, but also knew that Tori herself did not see it that way. View Spoiler » The story did not only offer a great insight of what it is to be a teenager, but also offers a good portrayal of teenage depression.

Then Michael Holden, the male protagonist in Solitaire, who was the opposite of Tori. Another great character, whom I do not want to reveal to much about. But what I love most about this book and the characters, is that it really isn’t just a love story. It’s a story about living life, living life and finding the people you care about.

It’s the writing is that is real, and the emotions that are real, and the characters that portray what it feels like as a teenager in such a realistic way. It’s a great story. Not perfect, but absolutely realistic and such a great read! What I really want to say is, go read Solitaire, because it is a pretty awesome (and although I’ve been using this word too much in this review: realistic) book!

four-half-stars
Follow:
Share with others

2 Comments

    • Iris
      Author
      01/08/2014 / 09:53

      Thank you! :)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.