The Geography of You and Me by Jennifer E. Smith | Book Review

I received this book for free from the Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

The Geography of You and Me by Jennifer E. Smith | Book ReviewThe Geography of You and Me by Jennifer E. Smith
Published by Brown for Young Readers on April 15th 2014
Genres: Contemporary
Pages: 352
Format: eARC
Source: the Publisher
Goodreads
four-stars

Lucy and Owen meet somewhere between the tenth and eleventh floors of a New York City apartment building, on an elevator rendered useless by a citywide blackout. After they're rescued, they spend a single night together, wandering the darkened streets and marveling at the rare appearance of stars above Manhattan. But once the power is restored, so is reality. Lucy soon moves to Edinburgh with her parents, while Owen heads out west with his father.

Lucy and Owen's relationship plays out across the globe as they stay in touch through postcards, occasional e-mails, and -- finally -- a reunion in the city where they first met.

A carefully charted map of a long-distance relationship, Jennifer E. Smith's new novel shows that the center of the world isn't necessarily a place. It can be a person, too.

What I thought NEW

This book! I read this book while I was on a snowboarding trip. It was a perfect read. There was just something so sweet, somewhat simple, but very adorable about this book. About getting stuck in an elevator with someone you don’t know, and how these few seconds, or minutes really, can make such a big difference in life.

It’s really slightly magical, the thought of meeting somebody in an elevator, being stuck with someone else and share that moment. That slight moment resulting in a night, in the middle of a blackout in New York, of connecting with somebody. A friendship is born in the middle of a powerless city, complete with free (melting) ice cream and a clear starry night on top of a huge building. Yep, it really is just a touch magical.

In The Geography of You and Me Jennifer E. Smith explores the idea that home is not a place, but a person. A person makes a home. This idea is something that has always been true to me, something I’ve always believed in. Because home would not be home without my family. I love how Smith portrayed this and she truly does a beautiful job of showing that it’s not where you are that matters, but who you are with.

This book was just so sweet. I couldn’t put it down. It covered so many aspects that we find hard, but all get to deal with. The growing up, growing away from people and meeting new people. Family, being near them, but also being far away from them, and losing them. Those are all very hard subjects to deal with, and while they are covered in this book, it still manages to come across as a light, and sweet love story.

Owen and Lucy grew a lot throughout the story. In the journey they took over nine months, they grow into the person they want to be. They do stupid things, make wrong decisions, but learn from all of their choices and mistakes. And their meeting at the beginning of those nine months results into countless postcards, confused feelings, and ultimately in seeing each other again. *sigh*

This story, in a way, was just honest and perfect. It was sweet, and while I doubt this can ever happen in real life (though please prove me wrong!) it was just a perfect story. Traveling brings Owen and Lucy the finding that home isn’t a place, but a person, and a connection to that person. Loved it!

four-stars
Follow:
Share with others

18 Comments

  1. 16/03/2014 / 14:56

    I’m so glad you loved this book!! I’m really looking forward to reading it because my fiancé and I were in a long distance relationship for a long time, so I think I can relate.

    I can’t wait to read it! You make it sound so sweet and perfect!

    • Iris
      Author
      31/03/2014 / 10:57

      That really is a good reason to read this book! I hope you’ll enjoy it as much as I did!

  2. 16/03/2014 / 14:57

    I loved this book SO much!

    • Iris
      Author
      31/03/2014 / 10:58

      Well, we so agree on that! ;)

  3. Jenneke
    16/03/2014 / 16:17

    Wow, really sounds like it’s a great book! I’m totally going to add this to my goodreads to-read list (along with a lot of other books, so little time, so much books).

    • Jenneke
      16/03/2014 / 16:19

      There is a free preview on Goodreads, btw…

    • Iris
      Author
      31/03/2014 / 10:58

      You’ll love this book Jen! I know you *winks*

  4. 16/03/2014 / 16:52

    Glad you enjoyed this one, Iris! I wasn’t a big fan of Jennifer’s other book, The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight, but since everyone seems to love this one so much I’m thinking of reading it. The concept of home being a person reminds me of Anna and the French Kiss, because it had something like that too! Great review! :)

    • Iris
      Author
      31/03/2014 / 16:31

      I heard that from more people… that they didn’t like her first book. I haven’t read it, so I can’t really form an opinion on that, but I liked this one A LOT!

      I hope you’ll like it too!

  5. I need this book, because I recognize this kind of relationship a lot. I am currently in a long distance relationship, well not that long distanced, like 4 hours, but different countries. I have read ‘The statistical probability of love at first sight’ and I really want this book too, because it’s so cute and I love cute and fluffy books.

    • Iris
      Author
      31/03/2014 / 16:34

      Oh you’ll love this book then (I am 100% sure!)
      Books are best when you can relate, so I think you’ll really enjoy this one :)

      I hope you get to read it soon Sandra!

  6. 16/03/2014 / 23:55

    Aww this sounds like a cute romance story perfect for my long flight across the globe :D Thanks for the recommendation Iris!

  7. There was just something so sweet, somewhat simple, but very adorable about this book. Oh Iris…you’re so eloquent! This is why I love reading your reviews so much – you’re such a fabulous writer – there are times when it literally gives me the chills just reading your reviews because of what a talented writer you are!

    I’m definitely going to have to get my hands on this one. I’m not typically a HUGE fan of romance, but I have a feeling this will be a definite hit for me. This sounds like a strong and powerful book that will stay in your mind for weeks to come, and I look forward to experiencing it for myself! Thanks for sharing Iris, and, as always, PHENOMENAL review! xD

    • Iris
      Author
      07/04/2014 / 23:20

      Aw, Zoe! You’re the first one to ever call me Eloquent *blushes* thank you! This might be the best comment I’ve ever had on my blog!

      I’d love to hear what you thought of this book!

      Hugs!

  8. 17/03/2014 / 18:57

    Eeee! This has made me want to read this book so badly! And the main character is called Lucy. Awesome name! ;)

    I didn’t love The Statistical Probability, but I’d like to give this a go.

    Fab review, Iris! :D

    • Iris
      Author
      07/04/2014 / 23:21

      Definitely a great name! *winks*
      I hope you enjoy this one better! (I know some others definitely did, so I’ll keep my fingers crossed for you!)

  9. 23/03/2014 / 14:46

    I completely understand what you were saying. I remember reading Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight and noticing how Smith managed to keep the story seemingly a light love story, but still add more complex problems like family in there. I loved that component and I’m glad to hear there is more in this one. Great review!

    • Iris
      Author
      07/04/2014 / 23:22

      Thank you! :)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.