Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas | Book Review

Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas | Book ReviewThrone of Glass by Sarah J. Maas
Series: Throne of Glass #1
Published by Bloomsbury USA Childrens on August 7th 2012
Genres: Fantasy & Magic
Pages: 404
Format: Hardcover
Goodreads
five-stars

After serving out a year of hard labor in the salt mines of Endovier for her crimes, 18-year-old assassin Celaena Sardothien is dragged before the Crown Prince. Prince Dorian offers her her freedom on one condition: she must act as his champion in a competition to find a new royal assassin. Her opponents are men-thieves and assassins and warriors from across the empire, each sponsored by a member of the king's council. If she beats her opponents in a series of eliminations, she'll serve the kingdom for three years and then be granted her freedom. Celaena finds her training sessions with the captain of the guard, Westfall, challenging and exhilirating. But she's bored stiff by court life. Things get a little more interesting when the prince starts to show interest in her... but it's the gruff Captain Westfall who seems to understand her best. Then one of the other contestants turns up dead... quickly followed by another. Can Celaena figure out who the killer is before she becomes a victim? As the young assassin investigates, her search leads her to discover a greater destiny than she could possibly have imagined.

What I thought NEWRemind me again why I didn’t read this book sooner? Lately it seemed that I was the only one that hadn’t read this book yet. Everybody kept raving about it, and boy did I feel bad for not reading it… So I ordered myself a copy (which I should have done when it first came out!) and can finally talk about the total awesomeness that is Throne of Glass!

When you throw an assassin in a story, that’s bound to have me hooked. So when you throw in Celaena (aka the assassin) as a main character, that’s going to leave me with a book hangover! She was just that awesome! A perfect bled of badass, stubborn and girlish. One moment she’s plotting to kill everyone around her, and the next she’s like a little kid eating one and a half pound of candy in the morning.

If you follow this blog regularly you’ve probably seen me write, again and again, that I love strong and badass female characters. Celaena was all that and more. She just has this sheer determination, wit, and so much strength as a character that it makes me want to pound my fist in the air. She is a quick thinker and her knowledge of all the many ways to kill somebody is quite scary, but also fascinating. She knows who she is, and she doesn’t pretend to be anyone else than herself. While she is an assassin, she’s also surprisingly girlish. That side of her leads to quite some hilarious scenes that had me guffawing. She’s playful, sarcastic and unashamed about really anything she says. Her love for dresses, and unashamed love for candy make her seem almost childish in a way. While she came across a bit arrogant at times, it all just added to her charm. She is, without a doubt, one of my favourite female characters ever!

While the synopsis screams Love Triangle, I have to say that it didn’t quite read like one to me. We have the Captain of the Guard, Chaol Westfall, and the Crown Prince, Dorian Havilliard, both important characters in the story. However, while it didn’t read like a love triangle to me, I can easily see it developing into one. While I have the feeling that I’ve gotten to know Dorian best. He was more open, and flirtatious I might add. Chaol didn’t fail to leave an impression. There were brief glimpses of humour and personality coming from underneath that hard exterior. Both men play an important role in the story, they’re both appealing and I grew to love them more and more as the story progressed. I think this is actually the first time that I don’t have a personal favourite. Both are amazing characters and I look forward to see where this is going.

With such strong characters it is so easy to lose yourself in a story. The world created is so entrancing. Magic and the mentioning of Fae makes me anticipate what’s going to happen next. There are so many things going on besides the primary plot! The depth of this book is amazing! While quite a few things are left unexplained, for instance, Celeana’s past is mostly left unaddressed. Her past is probably going to be a little bit dark and I am anxious to know more about it. I am ,however, positive that these unexplained parts will be addressed in the books to come. Overall this plot was very gripping, it had action, intrigue, mystery, and the right amount of romance.

This was such a good read! I am going to get myself the sequel right away, as well as going to get to the bottom of the e-novella’s I saw available for purchase. This book was every bit as awesome as everyone has been telling me for so long! A truly captivating read, Crown of Midnight here I come.

five-stars
Follow:
Share with others

13 Comments

  1. Yes, why did you wait so long to read this? ;) If you liked this one and the very strong Celaena then you will love Crown of Midnight. Definitely read that one soon, or wait until the third book is out and read them together. :)

    • Iris
      Author
      31/12/2013 / 10:40

      *goes and orders Crown of Midnight* You made me even more impatient to read the sequel! I am forcing myself to read my review copies first before I start the books for me. But if I do I’ll never get to the books I buy myself… So, I just read and review 3 review copies and then reward myself with one of the books I bought for myself! *pats myself on the shoulder*
      Thanks for stopping by!

  2. 31/12/2013 / 03:23

    Ah, I loved this one too :) And also felt like one of the last people to read it. The love triangle thing is complicated, huh? It’s so hard because I really like both guys for different reasons.

    • Iris
      Author
      31/12/2013 / 10:44

      It is! Both guys are just awesome, and they each have different traits that I just love them for. Did you think it was obvious there was a love-triangle? Because, to me, it really didn’t read like one… Though I see one coming in the second book lol.
      *sigh* those damn fictional crushes will be the death of me! haha

  3. Ooohh…you’ve got me hooked now Iris! I don’t know why I’ve been procastinating on reading this for so long, but you’ve definitely convinced me! I’m so glad that there were such strong characters in the story! (Hallelujih… characterization actually still exists in YA!) And no love triangle?!?! This keeps getting better and better! I’m off to order it from the library! Thanks for another lovely review Iris! <3

    • Iris
      Author
      31/12/2013 / 10:52

      Aw! Thank you! Your comment made my day. I do love a good story with strong characters and this was definitely one of the better ones out there! You’ll love Celeana, she’s awesome.
      Have fun reading! And thanks for stopping by :D

  4. 31/12/2013 / 11:17

    I’m still hearing all these raving reviews and still haven’t read it… >_< I need more time! (And more money to buy all the books I want.) It sounds amazing. I loooove main characters who command their book and don't just whinge through it. Only thing is, I'm a bit nervous about the love-triangle. I haven't read many good love-triangles yet… (I didn't mind the ones in TGH or The Selection). Still. I'm SO giving this book a go. Maybe the library has it…
    (PS. And I'm still working on that email about the bookshelf! Gosh…every time I remember it's night and photos at night suck. Tomorrow…fingers crossed. ;)

    • Iris
      Author
      01/01/2014 / 12:10

      Haha, you know, that’s how I felt! It was the main factor in me finally reading it during the holidays. I have a feeling you’ll like this love-triangle. Mainly because in this book there is only hinted at a love triangle… But there really isn’t really one yet. (I have a feeling it’ll change in the second book though) Besides, the guy characters are pretty much worth it *swoons* haha
      I got your email and replied! Lets do this! and don’t worry, take your time!

  5. 31/12/2013 / 12:49

    YAY I’m so happy you love Throne of Glass! After Crown of Midnight I can now say that is one of my favorite series and I’m always glad that other people love it too. And you should order Crown of Midnight now so you can read it soon! Especially because you love Throne of Glass, because Crown of Midnight is EVEN BETTER AND MORE AWESOME. It’s one of the best sequels ever in my opinion. :D

    I felt the same about the love triangle. It wasn’t a love triangle like in most books, it just hinted at one. I like that you have no personal favorite between the two guys and I can understand that. Although I’ve been shipping Chaol and Celaena from the first book and that’s not going to change ;)

    • Iris
      Author
      01/01/2014 / 13:19

      It was your enthusiasm that helped me push into reading Throne of Glass! You where so freaking excited about it (just look at the amount of smileys and capital letters used in your comment and you’ll see for yourself). I ordered Crown of Midnight, I hope I can get to reading it soon, though I have some review books that have to come first.
      You’re a Chaol fan! Ugh! It’s frustrating not having a favourite, because I always have a favourite! Crown of Midnight will probably leave me with a favourite though ;)

  6. 01/01/2014 / 17:52

    I’m one of those people who have yet to read this book but it gets so much hype I’m just so about it. From your review, Celaena sounds awesome and I’ve heard her described by several people as someone who is confident in herself and doesn’t pretend. I really like that. I think I haven’t picked up this series yet, though it has elements I would love, is that developing love triangle. It always sends me running for the hills and I was worried that the romance would overshadow the story but it’s good to know there was a balance to everything. I might get to this series later on in the year, I need to clean up my TBR pile.

    • Iris
      Author
      01/01/2014 / 18:55

      Cleaning up that TBR pile… that sounds familiar! Its what I am attempting to do right now. Though the review copies have to go before my personal reads, and I always end up buying more books for myself. That pile always gets bigger and bigger!
      I was hesitant towards reading Throne of Glass as well, and I think it was mainly the love-triangle that I was hesitant about, I’m so glad that this worked out the way I wanted!
      and I’ve been told that Crown of Midnights is even better than Throne of Glass (or Waaaay better as I’ve been told) so I’m definitely reading the sequel soon!
      Thanks for stopping by! :)

  7. Ewa
    19/06/2015 / 14:31

    First of all, I LOVED THIS BOOK!!!!!! Thank you thank you thank you for convincing me to read it (through your review)! It felt to me somewhat like a blend of The False Prince (Jennifer A. Nielsen), Grave Mercy (Robin LaFevers), Scarlet, The Selection, The Hunger Games, and HP and the Chamber of Secrets (which are all some of my favorite books), but yet wholly original. Btw you should definitely read Grave Mercy by Robin LaFevers if you’re into books about assassins :)
    Thanks for being awesome!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.